Division of Infectious Diseases and Global Public Health


Give Now; all donations will help bolster our Bi-Directional Residency and Research Collaboration.

In collaboration with faculty at the Universidade Eduardo Mondlane (UEM), we have developed an active bilateral exchange program involving medical residents, medical students and postdoctoral fellows. UEM is Mozambique's major University and is located in its capital city, Maputo about a 90 minute flight from Johannesburg. Research opportunities including malaria, tuberculosis and HIV are conducted under the direction of Emilia Virginia Noormahomed, M.D., Ph.D. Dr. Sam Patel, Chair of Medicine at UEM and of the Maputo Central Hospital provides clinical leadership in the partnership. Dr. Noormahomed and Patel are in the process of appointment to the UCSD Department of Medicine Faculty.


About Mozambique


Mozambique is the world's 35th largest country, just after Pakistan. It is located on the southeast side of Africa with a long coastline on the Indian Ocean. It borders South Africa, Swaziland, Zimbabwe, Zambia and Malawi.

Mozambique has a tropical climate with two seasons: a wet season from October to March and a dry season from April to September. Temperatures vary from a low of 55 degrees to 88 degrees throughout the year.

Mozambique has retained an indigenous culture based on small-scale agriculture despite European influence. Portuguese is the official language, though English is widely taught in the school systems.


Kruger National Park

Maputo is about 1.5 hours by car from South Africa's Kruger National Park - the largest game reserve in South Africa. All the Big 5 game animals (as well as 157 species in total) can be found at Kruger.


Key Faculty

Robert Schooley, M.D.
Professor of Medicine,
Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases.

Constance Benson, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Program Director, Fellowship

Emilia Noormahomed, M.D. Ph.D.
Universidade Eduardo Mondlane
Associate Professor of Parisitology

Sam Patel, M.D.
Universidade Eduardo Mondlane
Professor of Medicine,
Chair of Department of Medicine